Thriller

Posted on July 9, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I know… I disappeared again.  I’ve been doing that a lot lately.  Honestly, one of the main reasons I didn’t blog is because I couldn’t bring myself to talk about Michael Jackson (and that’s all that anyone wants to talk about lately in the entertainment world)…

It wasn’t because I was distraught over his death.  I thought the fanfare and public memorial were over-the-top and completely ridiculous.  You could say that I’m not an MJ lover.  Sure, he was truly the “King of Pop”.  We all loved his music and he deserves plenty of recognition for breaking the mold and being one of the best musical entertainers in history.  He set the bar and then re-raised the bar.  We all danced to “Thriller” (cue one of my favorite movie scenes)…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

We listened to marching band renditions of “Beat It”, felt our hearts break during “Heal the World”, and screamed our lungs out to “Billy Jean” and/or “Bad”.  Professionally, he was a genius.  It’s his personal life I can’t get down with.  I’d rather not celebrate the death (and spend millions of tax payer dollars – Los Angeles) of someone who was constantly surrounded with allegations of inappropriate behavior with children.  Of course this is my own PERSONAL OPINION.  I understand there are many people who don’t feel the way I do (and of course that just prompted “The Way You Make Me Feel” in my head).  So, with that – I’ll let it be.  So long MJ – Elvis will forever have Graceland and you will forever have Neverland…

I saw “Public Enemies” the other night…

Holy hot cast!  Johnny Depp…

Christian Bale…

Channing Tatum (who, unfortunately, only has about 3 seconds of screen time before his untimely death)…

The beautiful Marion Cotillard…

Plus lots and lots of other fine looking men.  The story is about John Dillinger – one of the most feared criminals in the 1930’s during the gang or “public enemy” era.  It was classic 1930’s… the set, the costumes, guns, cars, etc.  This film will definitely be up for a cinematography award at the Oscars next year.  It was done with an old school film style.  Most of the movie colors are dim and stay within the sepia range.  Johnny Depp (as always) was superb as John Dillinger.  I really don’t think there’s a role he can’t take on.  Christian Bale plays Melvin Purvis – the man who is put in charge of hunting down John Dillinger.  It’s truly a classic 1930’s mob movie.  The action, the twisted but passionate love story, the inner-workings of the mob and the loyalties and backstabbing that go with it, and the fact that these events (minus the Hollywood fluff) really did happen.

It was good.  Not great… I don’t think it’s worth the money to see it in theaters but it’s a definite A-STAT rental and/or purchase!

Alright, hope to keep up with the blog as much as possible!  See ya’ll soon…

more about “Thriller“, posted with vodpod

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

One Response to “Thriller”

RSS Feed for Snick at Nite Comments RSS Feed

i agree with everything here! everything. you’re so smart. haha…


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...